To which major German city for a school trip? The 5 most popular destinations

Cities in Germany offer lots of great activities for students on school trips. From historic buildings to cool outdoor sports activities, everything is included. Nevertheless, the selection is often difficult. There is a wide range of offers and it is not always easy to find out which destination is the best fit. Many teachers and students ask themselves: Which city do we go to for a class trip?

What should you pay attention to when choosing a destination?

There are various factors that you should consider when choosing the city to which your next school trip should go. For example, if you only have three days, the destination should be reached within around four hours so that you can still spend enough time in the city and don't have to rush from one activity to the next to accommodate everything. For longer trips, the cities are particularly worthwhile, which have a very wide range of activities so that you can serve different interests and avoid boredom.

berlin

Let's start with the capital. No other city shows the history of the country as clearly as in Berlin. The remnants of the wall are reminiscent of the division of Germany into the four zones of occupation, which are particularly visible here.

Berlin is also the political center of Germany. This is where decisions are made that will have an impact on the coming years. A visit to the Bundestag is therefore a must for every student. Sometimes you can also take part in debates as a spectator and get a feel for how politics are done in Germany. But Berlin is also interesting as a center for art and culture. The range of museums, theaters and events is bigger than in any other city, so there is something for everyone. Berlin is worthwhile for a short trip, but due to the many options, you can also easily fill the program for a whole week.

Berlin highlights

  • Berlin Wall - Learn about the division of Germany
  • Bundestag - This is how politics is done in Germany
  • Deutsches Theater - Visit one of the most popular cultural cities

hamburg

A popular activity with school groups in Hamburg is the Miniature Wonderland. It is the largest miniature railway system in the world and represents the city of Hamburg and various regions of the world in detail, which are all modeled and connected to each other. At the harbor, you can watch the huge ships arriving and leaving with goods from all over the world. The Speicherstadt and the old Elbe Tunnel are also very popular with students. Hamburg is therefore particularly suitable for classes interested in topics such as trade, globalization and international networking.

Hamburg highlights

  • Miniature Wonderland - Learn about urban geography
  • Port - Discuss global trade
  • St. Pauli Elbe Tunnel - Admire engineering

munich

Munich scores particularly well for leisure activities in nature. In less than an hour, you can reach the Alps and go hiking or skiing there. Or you can take a boat trip on Lake Starnberg or Lake Chiemsee. Another popular destination for school trips is the German Museum with interactive exhibitions on science and technology, or the Bavaria Film City, where you can take a look behind the scenes of German films. However, due to its location, Munich is not so easy to reach from many places in Germany and is therefore often only worthwhile if you have a whole week.

Munich highlights

  • Bavarian Alps - Discuss environmental protection and tourism
  • Deutsches Museum - Improve your understanding of technical inventions
  • Bavaria Filmstadt - Learn about the German film industry
No items found.
Fesselnde Geschichten & Rätselspaß
Spielend sehenswerte Orte entdecken
Atemberaubende Fotokulissen
Mehr Erfahren
No items found.

cologne

Cologne is a popular travel destination, particularly among young people due to its casual lifestyle. In addition to city tours, a visit to Cologne Cathedral is of course not to be missed. It is the city's landmark and, unlike most other buildings around it, also survived the bombing raids in the Second World War. Other excursion options include the Rhine, the Chocolate Museum and the German Sports and Olympic Museum. Phantasialand is also a popular destination in Cologne.

Cologne is also worth a trip if you have less time available and is also easy to reach from most locations. However, when it comes to politics and outdoor activities, other cities are more attractive.

Cologne highlights

  • Cologne Cathedral - discusses architecture and history
  • Sports and Olympic Museum - Learn about sports competitions
  • Phantasialand - Strengthen the class community

Frankfurt/Main

In no other city in Germany is the EU as present as in Frankfurt am Main. The headquarters of the European Central Bank is part of the impressive skyline that can only be found in Frankfurt in Germany. The city is particularly suitable for rainy days, as it has a variety of museums to offer, for example on the topics of money, film or art. A popular destination in Frankfurt is the Alte Oper, an opera house in whose concert halls classical music, jazz, but also musicals and other cultural programs can be visited. For those interested in literature, it is a good idea to visit the Goethe House in Frankfurt. The former home of the Goethe family is now open to the public as a memorial to the poet.

Frankfurt is particularly suitable for shorter school trips, as it is possible to travel relatively quickly from all over Germany.

Frankfurt highlights

  • European Central Bank - Learn about political and economic cooperation in the EU
  • Alte Oper - Experience a diverse cultural program
  • Goethe House - Visit the workplace of one of Germany's most famous poets

Which city should you choose for the school trip?

A class trip should offer the best mix of fun and learning. You want to strengthen the class community and create memories that extend beyond the class trip. In addition, topics that have been learned at school should be further explored. So once you've discussed a historical topic, such as the GDR and the Cold War, Berlin is more appropriate than Hamburg, Munich, Cologne or Frankfurt am Main. Berlin is also a must for classes interested in politics. In order to perfectly combine learning and fun, the puzzle tour “Flight & Espionage at the Berlin Wall” is recommended. During the city rally on smartphones, students solve puzzles in groups to enable an antique dealer to escape from the GDR. Here they learn playfully about Berlin's history at the time of the division of Germany, about flight to the West and the spying of the Stasi.

In welche deutsche Großstadt zur Klassenfahrt? Die 5 beliebtesten Ziele

Städte in Deutschland bieten viele tolle Aktivitäten für Schüler auf Klassenfahrten. Von geschichtsträchtigen Bauwerken bis zu coolen Sportaktivitäten im Freien ist alles mit dabei. Trotzdem ist die Auswahl oft schwierig. Das Angebot ist vielfältig und es ist nicht immer ganz leicht herauszufinden, welches Ziel am besten passt. Viele Lehrer und Schüler fragen sich: In welche Stadt fahren wir zur Klassenfahrt?

Worauf sollte man bei der Auswahl des Ziels achten?

Es gibt verschiedene Faktoren, die man beachten sollte bei der Auswahl der Stadt, in die die nächste Klassenfahrt gehen sollte. Hat man beispielsweise nur drei Tage Zeit, sollte das Ziel innerhalb von circa vier Stunden erreichbar sein, damit man noch genug Zeit in der Stadt verbringen kann und nicht von einer Aktivität zur nächsten hetzen muss, um alles unterzubringen. Für längere Fahrten lohnen sich besonders die Städte, die ein sehr breites Angebot an Aktivitäten haben, damit man unterschiedliche Interessen bedienen kann und keine Langeweile aufkommt.

Berlin

Starten wir mit der Hauptstadt. In keiner anderen Stadt zeigt sich die Geschichte des Landes so deutlich wie in Berlin. Die Überbleibsel der Mauer erinnern an die Teilung Deutschlands in die vier Besatzungszonen, die hier besonders sichtbar sind.

Berlin ist zudem das politische Zentrum Deutschlands. Hier werden die Entscheidungen getroffen, die Auswirkungen auf die kommenden Jahre haben werden. Ein Besuch des Bundestages ist daher ein Muss für jeden Schüler. Manchmal kann man auch als Zuschauer an Debatten teilnehmen und so ein Gefühl dafür bekommen, wie in Deutschland Politik gemacht wird. Berlin ist aber auch interessant als Zentrum für Kunst und Kultur. Das Angebot für Museen, Theater und Events ist so groß wie in keiner anderen Stadt und so ist für jedes Interesse etwas geboten. Berlin lohnt sich für einen Kurztrip, aufgrund der vielen Möglichkeiten kann man aber auch leicht das Programm für eine ganze Woche füllen.

Berlin Highlights

  • Berliner Mauer - Lernt über die Teilung Deutschlands
  • Bundestag - So wird in Deutschland Politik gemacht
  • Deutsches Theater - Besucht eine der beliebtesten Kulturstädten

Hamburg

Eine beliebte Aktivität mit Schulklassen in Hamburg ist das Miniaturwunderland. Es ist die größte Miniatureisenbahnanlage der Welt und stellt detailgetreu die Stadt Hamburg sowie verschiedene Regionen der Welt, welche alle im Modell nachgebaut und miteinander verbunden sind. Am Hafen kann man den riesigen Schiffen zusehen, wie sie mit Waren aus aller Welt ein- und wieder auslaufen. Sehr beliebt bei Schülern sind auch die Speicherstadt und der alte Elbtunnel. Hamburg eignet sich also besonders für Klassen, die an Themen wie Handel, Globalisierung und internationaler Vernetzung interessiert sind.

Hamburg Highlights

  • Miniaturwunderland - Lernt über Stadtgeografie
  • Hafen - Besprecht globalen Handel
  • St. Pauli Elbtunnel - Bestaunt Ingenieursbaukunst

München

München punktet vor allem mit den Freizeitaktivitäten in der Natur. In weniger als einer Stunde kann man die Alpen erreichen und dort wandern oder Ski fahren gehen. Oder man macht eine Schifffahrt auf dem Starnberger oder Chiemsee. Ein beliebtes Ziel für Klassenfahrten ist auch das Deutsche Museum mit interaktiven Ausstellungen zu Wissenschaft und Technik oder die Bavaria Filmstadt, wo man hinter die Kulissen deutscher Filme blicken kann. Durch seine Lage ist München jedoch von vielen Orten in Deutschland aus nicht so gut zu erreichen und lohnt sich daher oft erst, wenn man eine ganze Woche Zeit hat.

München Highlights

  • Bayerische Alpen - Besprecht Umweltschutz und Tourismus
  • Deutsches Museum - Verbessert euer Verständnis zu technischen Erfindungen
  • Bavaria Filmstadt - Lernt über die deutsche Filmindustrie
Fesselnde Geschichten & Rätselspaß
Spielend sehenswerte Orte entdecken
Atemberaubende Fotokulissen
Mehr Erfahren

Köln

Köln ist besonders bei jungen Menschen ein beliebtes Reiseziel aufgrund der lässigen Lebensart. Neben Stadtrundgängen darf natürlich ein Besuch des Kölner Doms nicht fehlen. Er ist das Wahrzeichen der Stadt und überstand im Gegensatz zu den meisten anderen Gebäuden um ihn herum auch die Bombenangriffe im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Weitere Ausflugsmöglichkeiten sind der Rhein, das Schokoladenmuseum und das Deutsche Sport- und Olympiamuseum. Auch das Phantasialand ist ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel in Köln.

Köln ist auch eine Reise wert, wenn man weniger Zeit zur Verfügung hat, und ist außerdem von den meisten Standorten aus gut zu erreichen. In Sachen Politik und Outdooraktivitäten sind andere Städte jedoch attraktiver. 

Köln Highlights

  • Kölner Dom - Besprecht Architektur und Geschichte
  • Sport- und Olympiamuseum - Lernt über sportliche Wettkämpfe
  • Phantasialand - Stärkt die Klassengemeinschaft

Frankfurt am Main

In keiner anderen Stadt Deutschlands ist die EU so präsent wie in Frankfurt am Main. Die Zentrale der Europäischen Zentralbank ist ein Teil der beeindruckenden Skyline, wie sie so in Deutschland nur in Frankfurt zu finden ist. Die Stadt eignet sich besonders für regnerische Tage, da sie eine Vielzahl an Museen zu bieten hat, beispielsweise zu den Themen Geld, Film oder Kunst. Ein beliebtes Ausflugsziel in Frankfurt ist die Alte Oper, ein Opernhaus, in dessen Konzertsälen Klassik, Jazz, aber auch Musicals und andere Kulturprogramme besucht werden können. Für Literaturinteressierte bietet es sich an, in Frankfurt das Goethe Haus zu besichtigen. Das ehemalige Wohnhaus der Familie Goethe ist heute als Gedenkstätte des Dichters der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich.

Frankfurt eignet sich besonders für kürzere Klassenfahrten, da von ganz Deutschland aus eine relativ kurze Anreise möglich ist.

Frankfurt Highlights

  • Europäische Zentralbank - Lernt über politische und wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit in der EU
  • Alte Oper - Erlebt vielfältiges Kulturprogramm
  • Goethe Haus - Besucht die Wirkungsstätte eines der bekanntesten Dichter Deutschlands

Welche Stadt sollte man für die Klassenfahrt wählen?

Eine Klassenfahrt sollte die beste Mischung zwischen Spaß und Lernen bieten. Man möchte die Klassengemeinschaft stärken und Erinnerungen schaffen, die über die Klassenfahrt hinausreichen. Zudem sollten Themen, die in der Schule gelernt worden sind, weiter vertieft werden. Hat man also ein historisches Thema durchgesprochen, wie zum Beispiel die DDR und den Kalten Krieg, dann bietet sich Berlin stärker an als Hamburg, München, Köln oder Frankfurt am Main. Auch für politisch interessierte Klassen ist Berlin ein Muss. Um Lernen und Spaß perfekt zu verbinden, empfiehlt sich die Rätseltour “Flucht & Spionage an der Berliner Mauer”. Bei der Stadtrallye am Smartphone lösen Schüler in Gruppen Rätsel, um einem Antiquitätenhändler die Flucht aus der DDR zu ermöglichen. Hier lernen sie spielend über die Berliner Geschichte zu Zeiten der Teilung Deutschlands, über Flucht in den Westen und die Spionage der Stasi.